The Three kingdom period

Following the Han dynasty there was a ~50 year break between the traditional dynasties of China, with China being effectively divided into three kingdoms fighting for supremacy. This is known as the Three Kingdom Period (~220 AD to ~280 AD).

The three kingdoms were the states of Wei, Shu and Wu.

The three kingdom period was followed by the Jin dynasty.